Collegiate Club Fencing
National Championships


The United States Association of Collegiate Fencing Clubs (USACFC) was established in 2003 to educate and promote fencing at the collegiate level throughout the United States.  The organization began with 13 teams and has grown to over 45 teams since its inception.

USACFC was formed as a Pennsylvania Nonprofit Corporation in 2005.  Each year the organization holds a national fencing championship in the host city of one of the member colleges.

USACFC Constitution and By-Laws

USACFC Board of Directors FAQ

Tournament Format

The event consists of three components. The first round, on Saturday, is three pools of up to 13 squads in each weapon event. Each pool fences round robin in the A-A B-B C-C format.  The results of that round do two things: they seed the championship bracket for Sunday, and they qualify individuals to the second component, an individual finals competition, which happen after the first round is complete on Saturday.

Sunday, the third and final component is a bracket of 32 squads (in each weapon event) which is fenced out to every place. It's not an elimination: if a squad loses in the first stage, it's in the 17-32 bracket, or if it wins, it's in the 1-16 bracket. Each subsequent stage narrows the squads into smaller sections of the bracket until they're fencing the squad most closely matched with them, whether it's for 1st and 2nd place or 31st and 32nd. So all 32 squads get 5 matches (rounds of 32, 16, 8, 4, 2).

The Sunday matches are fenced like dual meets (squad A's three athletes fence squad B's three for nine bouts total) but only until one squad wins five of the nine bouts (to decision).

USACFC Tournament Manual with all the details and instructions

Past Championships

The following were the sites and hosts for the National Championships since USACFC’s inception:

  • 2003 – University of Florida (18 teams)
  • 2004 – University of New Hampshire (22 teams)
  • 2005 – Michigan State University (25 teams)
  • 2006 – Clemson University (30 teams)
  • 2007 – Indiana University (31 teams)
  • 2008 – Smith College (35 teams)
  • 2009 – Wisconsin Dells, hosted by U Wisconsin (32 teams)
  • 2010 – Swarthmore College (41 teams)
  • 2011 – University of Chicago
  • 2012 – Hartford Conv Center, hosted by West Point/Army
  • 2013 – Summit Sports & Ice Complex, hosted by MSU
  • 2014 – Knoxville Convention Center, hosted by USACFC
  • 2015 – Bensalem High School, hosted by Swarthmore College
  • 2016 – Brown University, hosted by Smith College and USACFC
  • 2017 – Summit Sports & Ice Complex, hosted by MSU
  • 2018 – Chilhowee Exposition Center (TN), hosted by USACFC
  • 2019 – Sportsplex (PA), hosted by USACFC
  • 2020 – The Big E (MA), hosted by Smith College and USACFC